Shropshire Summer Individual

Name Grade Played Wins Draws Losses Byes Points
Nick Rutter 2208  7 4 3 0 0 5.5
Adrian Zdanowski 1990 7 5 1 1 0 5.5
Athar Ansari 1990 7 4 1 2 0 4.5
Chris Lewis 1915 7 3 2 2 0 4
Glyn Pugh 1900 7 3 2 2 0 4
Mark Smith 1803 7 2 3 2 0 3.5
Andy Grillage 1893 7 2 3 2 0 3.5
Dan Hilditch-Love 1683 7 2 2 3 0 3
Steve Tarr 1803 7 1 4 2 0 3
Tony Preece 1810 7 1 2 4 0 2
Francis Best 1900 7 1 2 4 0 2
Richard Szwajkun 1713 7 0 3 4 0 1.5  

1st:        Nick Rutter                  £50
2nd:      Adrian Zdanowski        £30
U1920:  Chris Lewis                   £25
U1805:  Mark Smith                  £25


Round 1 – w/c 5 July  
Nick Rutter  1-0Glyn Pugh
Tony Preece  0-1Adrian Zdanowski
Athar Ansari  1-0Mark Smith
Steve Tarr  0-1Dan Hilditch-Love
Chris Lewis 0.5-0.5Richard Szwajkun
Andy Grillage  1-0Francis Best
Round 2 – w/c 12 July  
Adrian Zdanowski0.5-0.5Nick Rutter
Glyn Pugh  1-0Athar Ansari
Tony Preece  0-1Chris Lewis
Mark Smith 0.5-0.5Dan Hilditch-Love
Steve Tarr 1-0Andy Grillage
Francis Best  1-0Richard Szwajkun
Round 3 – w/c 19 July  
Nick Rutter  1-0Dan Hilditch-Love
Athar Ansari  1-0Adrian Zdanowski
Andy Grillage 0.5-0.5Glyn Pugh
Chris Lewis  1-0Steve Tarr
Francis Best 0.5-0.5Mark Smith
Richard Szwajkun  0-1Tony Preece
Round 4 – w/c 26 July  
Chris Lewis 1-0Athar Ansari
Dan Hilditch-Love 0-1Andy Grillage
Adrian Zdanowski 1-0Francis Best
Mark Smith 0-1Glyn Pugh
Richard Szwajkun0.5-0.5Steve Tarr
Tony Preece 0-1Nick Rutter
Round 5 – w/c 2 August  
Nick Rutter 1-0Chris Lewis
Glyn Pugh 0-1Adrian Zdanowski
Andy Grillage 0 -1Athar Ansari
Dan Hilditch-Love 1-0Francis Best
Steve Tarr0.5-0.5Tony Preece
Mark Smith 1-0Richard Szwajkun
Round 6 – w/c 9 August  
Athar Ansari0.5-0.5Nick Rutter
Adrian Zdanowski1-0Chris Lewis
Francis Best 0-1Glyn Pugh
Tony Preece0.5-0.5Andy Grillage
Steve Tarr0.5-0.5Mark Smith
Dan Hilditch-Love0.5-0.5Richard Szwajkun
Round 7 – w/c 16 August  
Andy Grillage0.5-0.5Nick Rutter
Dan Hilditch-Love0-1Adrian Zdanowski
Glyn Pugh0.5-0.5Chris Lewis
Francis Best0.5-0.5Steve Tarr
Mark Smith1-0Tony Preece
Richard Szwajkun0-1Athar Ansari

Playoff Match 1
Adrian Zdanowski  0.5-0.5  Nick Rutter

Playoff Match 2

Nick Rutter             1-0       Adrian Zdanowski

1. e4 d6
2. d4 nf6
3. Nc3 g6
4. Be3 a6
5. h3 b5
6. e5 dxe6
7. dxe5 Qxd1
8. Rxd1 Nd7
9. Nd5 Kd8
10. e6 xe6
11. Nf4 Bb7
12.  Nxe6+ Kc8

White wins shortly after.

Tournament Rules:
A 7 round swiss tournament played over-the-board once a week.  A new round will be drawn each week and I welcome you to play your matches on either Mondays or Thursdays at: 

The Limes Hotel,
2 Vineyard Drive,
Telford, TF1 1SE

Pairings will be drawn at the weekend prior to the start of the new week. Everyone is encouraged to play their match Monday or Thursday in that week but if this isn’t possible because of holidays etc. all matches must be played by Tuesday 31st August. Any unplayed games on this date without prior agreement of the tournament controller may be defaulted.

Time Control: 1 hour 25 minutes + 10 seconds increment.
Match start time: 7.30pm

Entry Fee £5 payable to Shropshire Chess Association. The best way to pay is via online payment into the shropshire bank account:
Name:              Shropshire Chess Association
Account No:   60809748
Sort Code:      20-77-85

1st:                    £50
2nd:                  £30
U1805:             £25
U1920:             £25

Players can only win one prize. July’s grading list prior to the start of the tournament will be used to determine the grading prizes. If players are ungraded, to determine their grading bracket their January grading performance will be calculated excluding minor individual results.
In the event of a tie for first place there will be a tie break of two 45 minute + 10sec increment games held on the same night.
In the event of tie for grading prizes the sum of progressive scores will be used to decide places. If the players are still tied the prize will be split equally.
Sum of progressive scores example: If a players results are 1,0,0,1,0.5,0,1 then the sum of their progressive scores is 1+1+1+2+2.5+2.5+3.5=13.5

Games will be ECF rated. 

Note that by entering the tournament you are consenting for your contact details to be shared with all entering players. 

Results: Players should submit their results to the controller without delay.

Tournament Organiser:  Athar Ansari
Tel: 07891 103075

This tournament is being held In memory of Irene Hussain who passed away this year.