Cox Trophy

Controller – Adrian Zdanowski

Fixtures and results – current season

Round 1
Matches to be played by 17/6/21
Matches to be played by 2/7/21
Replay 3/8/21
Telepost A (h) 3 v Shrewsbury A 1
Oswestry A – ByeOswestry A (h) 1 v Telepost A 3Telepost A 1.5 v Newport A 2.5
Maddocks A – ByeMaddocks A (h) 1 v Newport A 3
Newport A – Bye

Detailed results

Rules of the competition

1. The competition will be held immediately following the completion of the league programme.

2. Teams that played in Division 1 will compete in the Cox Trophy.

3. All matches will be played between teams of four players. (see footnote***) 
4. Players will be eligible to play for a team based on the following test:-
The tournaments will be deemed to be a continuation of the immediately preceding league season.
Only a player eligible to play for the team if this were an additional league fixture may play for that team.
Any ineligible player who plays without the express permission of the opposing captain and the tournament controller in advance will be regarded as a default.

5. The date for each tie is the club night of the home team in the final week before the deadline. The captains may agree to play earlier, but if the fixture is not played by the designated date and the organisers have not been informed of a reason then both teams could be disqualified.

6. Fixtures published on the website will indicate home (h) and away (a).

7. By agreement between captains matches may be brought forward.

8. All games will be played under league rules 

9. Captains will toss for choice of colours.

10. In the event of a 2-2 draw, then the lower boards will be progressively eliminated until a result is established.
If all four games are drawn then the team with black on odd boards will win.

11. Tournament Controller:-   –

Adrian Zdanowski 07/06/2019 

Note ***

In past years there were many team withdrawals and individual defaults  – “can’t raise a full team of five due to hols and other summer activities etc” 
This resulted in the competition being suspended in 2011. Hence my current rule that teams shall comprise just four players.

Past winners of the Cox Trophy

Please help us name the Cox Trophy team members who played in previous finals. For known information please email  
Keith Tabner.

YearWinnersRunner UpWinning Team
2020Competition not held due to coronavirus
2019Newport A Maddocks A  Lawrence Cooper, Nick Rutter, Nathanael Paul, Ian Jamieson   
2018Newport A 3.5Shrewsbury A 0.5Nick Rutter, Ian Jamieson, Nathanael Paul, Chris Lewis  
2017Telepost A  2Newport A Trevor Brotherton, John Bashall, Matthew Clark, David Hodge 
2016Telepost A 2.5Newport A 1.5Nigel Ferrington, Phil Zabrocki, John Bashall, Matthew Clark  
2015Newport A 2.5Shrewsbury A 1.5Nick Rutter, Nathanael Paul, Simon Maydew, Chris Lewis  
2014Priorslee Lions A 2Newport A 2A Zdanowski, G Pugh, W Bates, J O’Neil 
2013Newport A 3.5Telepost A 0.5N Rutter, G Cooper, N Paul, C Lewis 
2012Church Stretton A 2.5Newport A 1.5Trevor Brotherton, Steve Rooney, Tiago Faustino, Carl Wakeman 
2010Telepost A3Wellington A 2Nigel Ferrington, David Bates, Richard Bryant, Keith Tabner, John Bashall 
2009Shrewsbury A 3.5Telepost B 1.5David Everington, Francis Best, Peter Kitchen, Daniel Locket, Ian Davies 
2008Telepost A3Shifnal Telford A2Jamie Hopkins, Nigel Ferrington, David Bates, Richard Bryant, Keith Tabner 
2007Church Stretton 3Newport Juniors 2Trevor Brotherton, Louis Graham, Gerald Link, Graham Shepherd, Alan Silver 
2006Shifnal Telford A 4Ludlow A 1John Footner, Dave Gostelow, Colin Roberts, Steve Tarr, Iain Wilson 
2005Newport B4Telepost A1Nick Rutter, Gavin Cooper, Ryan Palmer, Chris Lewis, Steve Cooper
2004Shrewsbury A2.5Telepost A2.5Trevor Brotherton, David Everington, Francis Best, Daniel Lockett, Steve Rooney 
2003Telepost A4Coddon A1Nigel Ferrington, Richard Bryant, Steve Rawlins, Dave Bryan, Keith Tabner
2002Shrewsbury AChurch StrettonJamie Hopkins, David Everington, Gordon Bradley, Francis Best, Neal Smith
2001Shrewsbury A5Telepost A0Jamie Hopkins, Gordon Bradley, David Everington, Nick Graham, Neil Smith
2000Telford A
1999Newport A
1998Telepost ACoddon A Nigel Ferrington, Dave Bryan, John Bashall, Keith Tabner, Neal Allen
1997Telepost ATelford ANigel Ferrington, Dave Bryan, John Bashall, Keith Tabner, Neal Allen
1996Coddon A
1995Newport A
1994Newport A
1993Newport A
1992Coddon A
1991Oswestry A
1990Shrewsbury A
1989Telford A
1988Telford A
1987Shifnal ARichard Parry, Jim Copley, Colin Roberts, Bill Jenrick, Eric Elwell
1986Madeley PC AShifnal AAlistair Gilbert, Jeremy Spearman, Eddie Spearman, Mike Mapleton, John Gilbert
1985Shifnal A3GKN A2Richard Parry, Colin Roberts,Jim Copley, Keith Tabner, Eric Elwell, Bill Jenrick
1984Madeley PC A2.5Nalgo A2.5John Blore, Alistair Gilbert, Jeremy Spearmen, Eddie Spearman, Mike Mapleton
1983Telford A
1982Oswestry A