Shrewsbury Town Championship - Summer 2019

Back to Shropshire Chess Homepage


This is a five round Swiss tournament for the titles Shrewsbury Town Champion (overall winner), Shrewsbury Town U140 Champion (highest score by a player graded under 140), and Shrewsbury Town U100 Champion.
To enter please email or ring me 01743 884943 with your contact details.
To be eligible you must be a member of one of the town's chess clubs and of the ECF. Every match must be played either at Telepost or Shrewsbury.
All games will be played under league time control rules and will be submitted for grading.
The tournament will run from May until September.
I will publish each round on the internet and by e-mail. If you do not have computer access, please ask a colleague to keep you up to date.
Players must agree date and venue with their opponent the player with white will be regarded as the home player.
This tournament is intended to enliven the summer chess scene in the town by giving players of whatever standard an opportunity to play five competitive games and sample the hospitality afforded to their guests by the town's chess clubs.
Club nights are :-
Monday = Telepost Chess Club *** Friday = Shrewsbury Chess Club ***

(As a last resort it is usually possible to play at Telepost Club on other evenings
- but if so please ring the clubhouse 01743 248205 beforehand )

Please check your own contact details and let me know if they need amending.

And don't forget to let me know your game result ASAP.
Good luck and enjoy. - Keith Tabner - (

Round 1
Ivor Salter   Peter Kitchen  
Matthew Clark   John Westhead  
Nick Holmes   David Everington  
Daniel Locket   Shane Sweeney  
James Birch   Mark Smith  
Phil Zabrocki   Trevor Brotherton  
Martin Ayres      

Champions Roll Of Honour
J Hopkins / P Kitchen / D Everington
John Westhead
Nick Holmes
Trevor Brotherton
Steve Kempsell
Shane Sweeney
Nigel Ferrington
Peter Kitchen
Nigel Ferrington
Steve Kempsell
Nick Holmes
Trevor Brotherton
Keith Tabner
Nick Holmes
Nigel Ferrington
Ivor Salter / Keith Tabner
Kate Walker
Nigel Ferrington
Ian Davies
Shane Sweeney
David Everington
Ivor Salter
John Casewell
Jamie Hopkins
Keith Tabner
John Casewell

Link to 2018 results
Link to 2017 results
Link to 2016 results
Link to 2015 results
Link to 2014 results

Link to 2013 results
Link to 2012 results
Link to 2011 results
Link to 2010 results