Shropshire Chess Congress 2017


This year's Shropshire Congress has now come to a successful conclusion. We are very grateful for all your support to help make this one of the best events on the UK congress calendar.

An exciting final round saw Alan Merry IM emerge as the sole winner of the Shropshire Open 2017 winning the 1,000 first prize. GM Keith Arkell was joined by Andrew Horton FM in second place.

In the Major there was a four-way tie for first place - Athar Ansari, John Gorman, Peter Lovatt and Nigel Towers.

And Shropshire player Kate Walker becomes the first female winner of a section at the Shropshire Congress with a tied first place in the Minor alongside Simon Killarney.

1 Alan Merry IM (4.5)
2= Keith Arkell GM, Andrew Horton FM (4)

Under 2000 FIDE grading prize
John Edge, Roger de Coverley, Max French, Chirag Guha, Aditya Munshi (2.5)

Top Shropshire player in the Open
Nigel Ferrington (3)

1= Athar Ansari, John Gorman, Peter Lovatt, Nigel Towers (4)

Under 140 ECF grading prize
Matthew Carr (3)

1= Simon Killarney, Kate Walker (4.5)
3= Julian Hawthorne, Dimitar Kirachen, Jason Madden, Steve Szwajkun (4)

Under 100 ECF grading prize
Dimitar Kirachen, Steve Szwajkun (4)

Top Junior in the congress
1= Daniel Abbas (3 in Open), Ewan Herd (3 in Minor)

In addition to all our entrants, we are very grateful to our Shropshire chess colleagues who helped with the event as well as our first class arbiters, and of course Wrekin Housing Trust IT and facilities staff and especially Jacob's fabulous catering team.

See you next year.

Francis Best and Steve Rooney

Full crosstables and games here